Govt to build 42 innovation hubs across the country

Incubations hubs Uganda

The Ministry of Science, Technology, and Innovation is to construct 42 incubation hubs and science industrial parks to support research and innovation across the country.

To support innovators across the country, the ministry’s permanent secretary, Mr. David O. O Obong said, the 42 incubation hubs will be affiliated to universities.

The hubs will have business, value addition, biotechnology, and science promotion centers.

“The innovators shall be profiled by focal point persons that shall be put in every district. The incubation centres will stimulate innovations and provide space for ideas to flourish,” Mr. Obong said.

He was speaking in Lira Town on Tuesday during a sensitisation meeting with district officials across Lango sub-region.

Mr. Morris Ochen, the assistant commissioner in the Directorate of Techno-Preneurship, said the move will support domestic technology development, research and innovation.

“To encourage young people to do more innovations, we need to create incubation hubs where people come with their ideas, we critique them and they improve them,” Mr. Ochen said.

Must read: Tech hubs and co-working spaces in Uganda: What they charge for space

He noted that his team will collaborate with Lira University towards establishing a science and technology park in the area.

Lira District planner Henry Omoo, however, questioned how the initiative will support illiterate citizens.

“The ministry should incorporate a special project for the illiterates. There are people out there who are innovative but have not gone through formal education,” he said.

Mr. Fredrick Dickens Odongo, the Dokolo District chairperson, said the ministry should start with exposing primary school pupils to the technologies for better transformation.


Co-Creation Hub set to open unit in Rwanda

Govt calls startups to apply for second round of innovation fund

To Top