NITA-U unveils 3 judges ahead of E-Government excellence awards ceremony

Japheth Kawanguzi

The National Information Technology Authority (NITA-U) has named three officials who will officiate E-Government Excellence Awards and reveal the winners during the grand ceremony at Speke Resort Munyonyo in Kampala on June 27.

These are Dr. Agnes Rwashana Semwanga, an associate professor of Information Systems and the Deputy Principal of the College of Computing and Information Sciences at Makerere University; Mathias Katamba, the managing director and chief executive officer of DFCU Bank; and Japheth Kawanguzi, founder of The Innovation Village, an incubation hub based in Kampala.

Running under the theme “Bold Digital Government: Unlocking Service Delivery”, the Awards will recognize the various Government agencies that have played a remarkable role in availing online government services to the public.

The project was rolled out on May 28 and a number of activities have been going on since. Yesterday, a two-day exhibition dubbed E-Gov Expo was opened by Finance Minister Kasaija and it is happening at Garden City Rooftop in Kampala. Over 50 exhibitors, including Government Ministries, Departments, and Agencies, Academia, Innovators, Telecoms, are showcasing their e-services and the journey taken thus far.

At the expo, there were a number of free services like Wi-Fi, maternal health services, HIV checks and counseling, searches for land titles, TIN and National ID registration among others.

The project was also sponsored by Ernst Young, World Bank, Huawei Technologies Uganda, DELL Technologies and Ernst & Young.

The awards categories

eGov Citizen Choice Award: all Ugandan citizens will vote here.

The Citizen Choice Award shall recognize the Government MDA whose website shall have attained the most votes from the Public/Citizen for being the most useful/helpful in the citizenry’s lives. The voting pool for this Award made up of the top 10 eServices shall be compiled from the eCitizens portal. To vote for your favorite service, please click here

CIO of the Year Award:

The CIO of the Year Award shall recognize the Head of IT in any Government MDA who has been exemplary in the delivery of their work

Outstanding Agency of the Year Award:

The Outstanding Agency of the Year Award shall recognize the Government MDA that is compliant to Government of Uganda Standards in the delivery of its e-services.

The Outstanding Web-portal Award:

This shall recognize the Government MDAs whose websites have achieved maturity in these categories: Connected, Transactional, Interactive, and Informational.


Govt makes good on boosting Internet connectivity in West Nile

NITA unveils eGovernment excellence awards

To Top